Many Iowa motorcycle accidents occur in towns or cities. You might think that busy highways like I-80 or 380 are more dangerous than the streets of Cedar Rapids; after all, you are driving at a slower speed and going shorter distances when you ride in town. However, cities have one serious danger that highways do not—intersections. More than half of Iowa motorcycle crashes occur at intersections.

Many Cedar Rapids motorcycle crashes occur when a car driver makes a left turn into the path of a motorcycle. The driver is not intending to cause an accident. He either doesn’t see the motorcyclist or he misjudges the motorcycle’s distance because of the motorcycle’s relatively small size. When the car hits the driver, the motorcycle spins out of control. If it is a busy street, there may be multiple collisions. Often the motorcyclist is thrown from his bike into the path of other vehicles. Because there is little room to maneuver on city streets, the drivers can’t stop in time to avoid the collision.

The Top 3 Reasons Motorcycle Accidents Occur in Cedar Rapids:

  • The driver misjudges how far away the rider really is and turns into his path
  • The driver does not see a rider who is obscured by other vehicles or is in his blind spot
  • The driver is unable to stop for a rider in trouble

Many Cedar Rapids motorcycle accidents are preventable. Drivers should be educated on how to drive safely near motorcyclists, how to judge a motorcycle’s speed, and how much space to leave between vehicles. The Cedar Rapids motorcycle injury attorneys at Hupy and Abraham are dedicated to preventing Iowa motorcycle crashes. You can do your part with a “Watch for Motorcycles” bumper sticker.

If you are injured in an Iowa motorcycle wreck, we can help you protect your rights and get the compensation you deserve. To schedule a free consultation with a Cedar Rapids motorcycle accident lawyer, please call 800-800-5678.

Jason F. Abraham
Connect with me
Helping car accident and personal injury victims throughout Wisconsin, Illinois and Iowa since 1993.