Wisconsin has its own sets of highway safety laws. Some of the more crucial laws, outlined below by the Governors Highway Safety Association, involve child passenger safety and drunk driving. Our Milkwaukee car accident attorney is featuring these laws to ensure that you, as a driver or rider in Wisconsin, are informed of the laws that require you to, for example, wear a helmet when operating a motorcycle when under 18. In addition, it is a good idea to know and understand these laws and regulations and your rights under Wisconsin Law.
Important Auto Laws in Wisconsin
- Aggressive Driving- There are currently no specific aggressive driving laws in Wisconsin.
- Cell Phone and Texting- At this time, there is a text messaging ban for all drivers to include experienced, novice and school bus drivers. There is no current ban on other cell phone use or mobile devices.
- Child Passenger Safety- In Wisconsin, children from:
- Birth to 20 pounds are required to be in a rear-facing infant seat.
- 1-3 years old (and 20-40 pounds) are required to be contained in an appropriate forward-facing child safety seat.
- 4-7 years old (and 40-80 pounds and under 57 inches) must be in a booster seat.
- Children under 3 must be in the rear seat if available.
- Drug Impaired Driving- There are per se laws in Wisconsin that prohibit certain substances in a driver's body.
- Drunk Driving- A first offence will result in a six month license suspension. Wisconsin also has laws regarding open containers, repeat offenders and ignition interlocks for a BAC over .15 and repeat convections.
- Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL)- Learners permits may be issued at 15 years and 6 months. Full privilege can be obtained at 16 years and nine months, though this license requires a sponsor until age 18.
- Helmets- Though the universal helmet law was repealed in 1978, a partial law remains. Now, only motorcyclists 18 and under are required by law to wear a helmet.
- Seat Belts- Seat belts are required for all passengers under eight years old.
- Sobriety checkpoints- Sobriety checkpoints are currently prohibited by statue.
- Speed Limits- The highest speed allowed on any road in Wisconsin (interstates, rural interstates and other limited access roads) is 65 mph.
- Speed and Red Light Cameras- Both types of cameras are prohibited by the state.
- Work Zones- Speeding in a work zone where workers are present can result in fines of double the minimum.
Your rights, both before and after an accident, are important to us. The experienced attorneys at Hupy and Abraham hope that the above overview helps you better understand the laws that impact you as a driver or rider.
Want to learn more about your rights a car accident victim? If so, request our free book, The Ultimate Guide For Automobile Accident Victims. Doing so will help you protect your rights after an accident in Milwaukee, Des Moines, Madison or anywhere in Wisconsin, Iowa, or Illinois.
Injured in a Crash? Contact Our Milwaukee Car Accident Lawyer for a Free Consult
Were you or a loved one recently injured in a crash due to another person’s negligence? If so, then it is time to contact our car accident lawyer in Milwaukee for a free consultation. Our team has been practicing law in Wisconsin for over 50 years, and have seen every type of accident there is.
To schedule a consult with our experienced Milwaukee car accident lawyer, start an online chat, fill out our convenient contact form or call 1 (800) 800-5678 today!