Iowa moto statute of limitationsYou may have to live with the impact of your motorcycle accident injuries forever, but the time that you have for filing your motorcycle accident claim will end.

Iowa, like other states, has a specific law known as the statute of limitations that provides personal injury victims with a deadline for filing their claims. If you fail to file a court case (or to settle your claim) prior to that date, then the court can refuse to hear your case and you may never make a financial or legal recovery.

How Much Time Do You Have?

Generally, you have two years to file a claim if you were hurt in a motorcycle accident or if your loved one died in a motorcycle accident. In most cases, the statute of limitations begins to run on the date of the accident if you were injured, or on the date of death if your loved one was killed. However, the time to file a claim may be extended if you were under the age of 18 when the bike crash occurred. In that case, the Iowa statute of limitations is extended and you have until your 19th birthday to file a claim, unless the two-year statute of limitations would provide you additional time.

Why You May Want to Take Action Now

Two years may seem like a long time. You may believe that you have other, more pressing, matters to take care of before you consider your legal claim. However, waiting to file a claim could be a mistake. Specifically, there are at least three benefits to filing a legal claim early. By filing your case as soon as possible after the accident…

  • You can make sure that all relevant evidence is preserved to the extent possible.
  • You can make sure you don’t miss the statute of limitations deadline.
  • You can recover damages sooner rather than later.

Accordingly, if you’ve been hurt we encourage you to find out more about your rights today by reading our book, The Ultimate Guide for Motorcycle Accident Victims, which can be downloaded for free.

Jason F. Abraham
Connect with me
Helping car accident and personal injury victims throughout Wisconsin, Illinois and Iowa since 1993.