You were hurt because a property owner failed to provide you with reasonable security; however, your time to file a lawsuit is limited. Wisconsin, like other states, has a law known as the statute of limitations. The statute of limitations provides a date by which you must file a lawsuit. If you fail to file your lawsuit by the date when the statute of limitations expires, then the defense will raise that issue and your case will be dismissed without your receiving any compensation for your injuries.
The Personal Injury Statute of Limitations
According to Wisconsin Statute 893.54, most personal injury victims have three years to file a lawsuit. However, as with many laws, there are exceptions to the statute of limitations.
The Statute of Limitations May Be Lengthened
Wisconsin law allows for the extension of the statute of limitations in certain circumstances. For example, people who are hurt as minors or when they are mentally incompetent may have longer than three years to file a claim. However, the time is not unlimited and it is important to be aware of all deadlines.
The Statute of Limitations May Be Shortened
If you were hurt on city or county property, then you may be required to provide formal notice of your injury to the government within 120 days of being hurt. The failure to provide the required notice within 120 days could result in the dismissal of your legal claim.
Don’t Let a Deadline Pass
The consequence of a missed legal deadline could cost you your entire recovery. Don’t let this happen to you. Instead, contact an experienced negligent security attorney as soon as possible after your attack and let your lawyer protect your rights, make sure that all deadlines are met, and fight for your fair and full recovery.
To learn more about how negligent security cases work, please download a FREE copy of our report, Negligent Security: What You Need to Know About It, and call us at 1-800-800-5678 to schedule your free consultation.