Get Help Now

Wisconsin | Articles

Wisconsin Statute of Limitations and Your Personal Injury Claim

If you have been seriously injured in Milwaukee and are considering filing a Wisconsin personal injury claim, you should be aware of the Wisconsin statute of limitations, which are deadlines for filing a claim. If you miss the Wisconsin statute of limitations, you will miss out on receiving compensation for your injuries.

The Wisconsin statute of limitations is typically 3 years for personal injuries. This means you have 3 years from the date your injuries occurred to settle your injury claim or file a lawsuit, which can be benefited by the assistance of a Milwaukee personal injury attorney.

For example, if your claim involves a car accident, much of the 3 years will be spent negotiating with insurance companies and determining which driver contributed most to the accident. Your Milwaukee personal injury attorney will be tasked with gathering evidence, combing through police reports and interviewing witnesses to help you build a strong case.

Three years might seem like a long time, but it isn't when you consider all the work involved in trying to settle a claim. The 3-year deadline is not the norm for all cases.

Other Common Wisconsin Statute of Limitations

If your Wisconsin personal injury claim is against a municipal entity such as a city or county, you will be required to notify the entity in writing that you have been injured within 120 days of your accident. You will also have to provide the city or county with a notice of your Wisconsin personal injury claim before you begin to file a lawsuit.

Because of the extremely tight Wisconsin statute of limitations involving a municipal entity, it would be in your best interest to hire a Milwaukee personal injury attorney to ensure you meet the deadline. If you try to file a claim against a city or county on your own, you run the risk of making errors in your documents that could delay your case and cause you to miss the Wisconsin statute of limitations.

The Wisconsin statute of limitations is different for minors and people who are deemed mentally incompetent. According to state law, those who are minors or mentally ill can begin Wisconsin personal injury claim proceedings up to 5 years after they sustained injuries, depending on their condition.

A Milwaukee Personal Injury Attorney Can Help

After any serious injury caused by someone else's negligence, you should consult with a Milwaukee personal injury attorney. You can risk losing all the compensation you are entitled to if you miss the Wisconsin statute of limitations by even 1 day.

Your Milwaukee personal injury attorney handles personal injury cases on a day-to-day basis and will make sure all I's are dotted and all T's are crossed to meet the Wisconsin statute of limitations and help preserve your legal rights.

Contacting a Milwaukee Personal Injury Attorney

A Wisconsin accident can impact more than just your short-term health. Serious or permanent injuries may require hundreds of thousands of dollars in treatment and rehabilitation costs. If your injuries also prevent you from working for an extended period of time, you likely will not be able to handle these costs on your own. If someone's negligence caused your accident, you shouldn't have to shoulder these substantial expenses.

Working with an experienced Milwaukee personal injury attorney can make a huge difference in the outcome of your claim. If you or a loved one has been injured in an accident in the Milwaukee area, order our FREE DVD - Valuable Insurance Information Insurance Companies Don't Want You to Know and contact a Milwaukee personal injury  attorney at Hupy and Abraham for a no-cost consultation on your case - 800-800-5678.

Free Offers

Get Your FREE "DNT TXT N DRV" Bumper Sticker!

Get Your FREE "DNT TXT N DRV" Bumper Sticker!

Request your FREE “DNT TXT N DRV” bumper sticker and help the Wisconsin car accident attorneys at Hupy and Abraham raise awareness of distracted driving.

View Details