If you have been injured in a Wisconsin car accident, you may not realize that your actions immediately after the crash can affect your settlement.
The Appleton personal injury lawyers at Hupy and Abraham have noticed that there are several common mistakes that people make after a car accident. Even if you aren’t at fault for the accident, here are...
3 Actions that can Destroy a Wisconsin Accident Claim
1. Don’t call the police or file a police report.
Wisconsin law requires that an accident be reported to the police if there is:
- Any death or injury
- More than $1,000 in property damage to any vehicle
- More than $200 in damage to government property.
If no one is hurt and the vehicles have only minor damage, you don’t have to report the accident.
However, without a police report, the insurance company may reject your claim. If police officers did not come to the scene, call the police department and ask how you can file an accident report.
2. Wait a few days to see the doctor.
It is always a good idea to see your doctor and be checked for injuries after a Wisconsin auto accident, even if you’re just a little sore. Symptoms of serious head, neck, and back injuries may not appear until hours or even days after the accident. A doctor will screen you for hidden injuries and give you a list of symptoms to watch for.
Seeing a doctor immediately after an accident also protects your injury claim. An insurance company will not take your injury seriously if you wait to seek medical attention. Many times, insurance adjustors deny claims on the grounds that, if you were really hurt in an accident, you would have gone to the ER immediately.
3. Agree to a recorded statement.
If you have been seriously injured in an accident, you can expect a call from the insurance adjuster. The insurance companies know that, in the days immediately after a serious Wisconsin car accident, an injury victim does not know the full extent of his injuries. Insurance adjusters take advantage of this and will call to ask you about your injuries and pain, even if you are taking quite a lot of pain medication.
This is not the time to answer the adjuster’s questions, as it is too early to tell how long your injuries will take to heal, whether you will have permanent disability, or if there will be any complications. It is best to not to give any medical information.
Insurance adjusters may use leading statements to make it seem like you contributed to or caused the accident. They are simply trying to put words in your mouth that they may use as a “recorded statement” in the future. Our Appleton car crash lawyers suggest that you ask to call back at a better time or refer the adjustor to your Wisconsin accident injury lawyer.
What should you do after an Appleton auto accident? Request a free copy of our book, The Ultimate Guide For Automobile Accident Victims, and contact the Appleton car accident lawyers at Hupy and Abraham
For a free, confidential, no-obligation consultation,
call 920-882-8382, toll-free 800-800-5678, or using our online contact form.